Deck the Halls!

I love Christmas, not just the perfect excuse to have port in the cupboard and a mince-pie moment everyday .. at least once, but all the pieces of December that make the run up to Christmas so exciting. The decorating, the tree and all the festive colours and lights everywhere is so beautiful. Seeing it all again through my little girls eyes this year has made it extra special. I really wanted to involve her in the decorating and try to make the living room feel magical.

 DSC_0624 DSC_0612

 

I don’t like doing my Christmas shopping before it feels like Christmas is nearly upon us, but for some reason I find it perfectly acceptable to buy Christmas decorations out of season, especially when they are amazingly reduced and just had to come home with me! I also plucked some clippings from our garden and a few pine cones from our walks in the woods, things that would help make the place ‘feel festive’.

            2014-12-13 16.56.21             2014-12-13 16.56.36

Of course I always love a bit of homemade-crafty-fun, especially with my little one, so what better way to get in the festive spirit than decide to make some snow flakes.

2014-12-13 12.39.39 2014-12-13 12.39.54

I let Ayla paint and decorate some doilies whilst I tried to do the paper / folding / cutting snowflakes that I remember so well making when I was at school, unfortunately I had completely forgotten how to do it and after several attempts they began to resemble something of a snowflake.

I used the cuttings and berries/pine cones I had to decorate the twig hearts that I picked up from hobby craft in the summer for only £1 🙂 I also made paper chains to adorn the living room… I really like how the paper has the print on one side and the brown paper showing on the underside, (again only £1 a roll from Lidl).

DSC_0592 2014-12-13 18.51.31

I even attempted to dry my own orange circles to use as decorations. Basically you slice them and then leave them in the oven on the lowest setting for ages, until they are completely dried out.

2014-12-03 12.29.38 2014-12-03 12.31.54

Disastrously I forgot to mention to my other half that Christmas decorations were ‘drying’ in the oven and he pre heated the oven to cook something, which resulted in dried out, very burnt oranges and I didn’t attempt anymore. Oranges will be strictly eaten this season… not dried and hung, (never mind there is always next year).

Another oven ‘faux pas’ was exploding chestnuts in it! This was because we forgot to cut them or ‘someone did’ 🙂 this resulted in me actually deciding to clean the oven, something I never do and don’t intend to do for a very long time!

… And yes the mask was necessary!

 DSC_0626 DSC_0631

Love having the fireplace to decorate and with the television out of the way, the TV stand made for the perfect place for the Christmas tree.

This year the tree is sitting in the window which I always think is nice to be able to see the light inside shining out. Maybe one year we shall invest in some lights to hang in the willow tree outside.

  DSC_0616 DSC_0620   DSC_0608 DSC_0610

DSC_0642

Wishing you all a very Happy Christmas and lets not forget the greatest light this season…

DSC_0615

Jesus the light of the world! 🙂

John 3:16

 

Leave a Reply

