To Market we will go!

Had our first experience of selling at market last week, and I can’t say I enjoyed it all that much. I was very sad to see these boys go …..

2014-03-31 17.15.56

Apart from having knots in my stomach I did enjoy seeing Ayla’s reactions and interests to her first real livestock market, I have taken her to a horse sale when she was tiny and she has been to general sales once or twice but I think she preferred the livestock sale, she was particularly taken with the cows!

2014-04-03 11.05.51 2014-04-03 09.30.31

Here she is picking out the best sheep!

2014-04-03 10.44.50

During the auction I found it quite upsetting watching my cockerels caged up,  I vowed to Josh I would buy them back if I didn’t like the look of a prospective owner… needless to say he didn’t even let me near a bidding card! Fortunately our blue Orpington ‘Buck’ was bought by a breeder and the other two boys were sold to a gentleman. It was awful to see them go but it was sad seeing them in the garden without their hen’s too.

After the auction we headed into the town where Ayla fell in love with a giant bronze sculpture of a Hereford Bull!

2014-04-03 13.47.23 2014-04-03 13.50.03

There was a slight upset when we had to say goodbye to him, Ayla then proceeded to walk the rest of the way calling ‘Bull Bull.. Bull’ all the way back to the car, not sure what passers by made of it all! I’m pretty sure she would of had us take him home with us if we could.

 

2 thoughts on “To Market we will go!

Leave a Reply

