Floods, Farms and Valentines!

Had such a great weekend spent with my hubby and baby girl (despite all the rain!). Valentines was really special, we put Ayla to bed and I set the table up to make us feel like we were eating some place fancy. We had a lovely meal and a bottle of bubbly 🙂

2014-02-14 20.11.412014-02-14 20.23.21

We ended up chatting and giggling for hours, it was so nice to just take our time over dinner for a change. Made me realise how much time we take up ‘plugged in’, to either the telly or the computer in the evenings.

So nice to just be together… no distractions… bliss!

2014-02-14 20.41.53

On Saturday we visited Ayla’s Granny and Grandad’s place they have land and horses, pigs, dogs and cats. Was great to see them and all the animals, really nice as I am missing having horses and dogs around so was really great to have a cuddle with the dogs.

2014-02-15 11.01.56

I had an especially lovely snuggle with one of their mares Verity, she has the softest coat and the warmest nature, she is such a beautiful horse to be around. I am desperate to go and visit Saracen, Glenny and Oscar when I get the chance!

Josh dug out one of my favourite books this weekend and it has got me so excited about getting out in the garden this year and get growing some veggies.  Just need to get strong enough now to get going!!!

2014-02-18 20.03.35Mum and Dad gave me this book for Christmas 2007 and in my opinion is one of the best books on Self-Sufficiency. It was written by John Seymour firstly in 1975 and this is the new edition was published in 2003.

It covers everything from food from the garden, animals, field, the wild, brewing and wine making, energy and waste, to crafts and skills.

I know the idea of living completely self-sufficient is perhaps nothing but a pipe dream to many. However there is something very appealing about becoming ‘self-sufficient’ or maybe put a better way as living more ‘sustainably’.

It is a pretty radical to think about being completely ‘self sufficient’ and I am in no way living like that but I love the idea of it, even if the reality is only small. Love the idea of growing a few veggies or making your own bread, there is something so rewarding about feeding your family from your own garden produce. It isn’t without hard work though, and since we had Ayla the reality has been that we have not managed to grow much this last year. My husband is the really great grower and after dusting off my gardening books this winter I am getting excited to get out there. I think Ayla will really enjoy it too, hoping to get her some gardening tools of her own!

Anyway I will leave you with some flood pictures that I took today, hopefully we are coming towards the end of all this now.

2014-02-18 16.07.372014-02-18 16.05.22 2014-02-18 17.37.41 

Leave a Reply

